Testing: Part II

11346322_800
Zoom H2n

After having created my first 360-degree video, I wanted to make another one. I know on what points I had to improve for my second try. The camera is on a higher position, there is more lighting and an actual story element in the video. The main goal of this video was to use the Zoom H2n microphone instead of the build-in microphone of the camera. The Zoom H2n can record spatial audio, which can be roughly described as “360-degree sound”. It has the ability to capture a four-channel surround sound audio, which gives you four audio channels that can be altered individually. It is a bit bigger than the camera I am using (Samsung Gear 360) and it can be mounted on a tripod, when that is a bendable one you can easily attach it to the tripod that the camera is on. Click here for a more elaborate discription of the Zoom H2n.

Process

For this video I had basically the same process as the last one. I shot the video (which took 7 takes) and recorded the audio with the Zoom H2n at the same time. This time I used the correct settings which gave me one 4K file, instead of multiple files in a lower resolution. I used the ‘clap’ method to make it easier for me to sync the video and audio with each other in the edit. After stitching the video, I put the video and audio file in Adobe Premiere Pro CC, synced them together. I cut out the parts I did not need and put in some titles (this time not so big and a bit longer on screen). Exported it in the right settings, injected the metadata and uploaded it to YouTube.

Hereby I present my second 360-degree video. This time it is me singing a song while playing the guitar, so hopefully it is more interesting than the previous one. It is recommended to watch it with a VR headset, such as Google Carboard, if that is possible.

This video is already a lot better than the first one, mainly because something more insteresting is actually happening in the video. Just like the Samsung Gear 360, the Zoom H2n is really easy to use. All I had to do is put it in the desired settings and press the red record button. At first I had trouble with the volume of the audio (it was way to soft), but after putting the raising the gain level it was fine. The video is a couple minutes longer and took a whole lot longer to process, export and upload. This has primarly to do with the lenght of the video and the because it is in 4K resolution. A normal tripod was used to put the camera on a higher position, this was also mentioned in the video itself. You can see the tripod in the video, which is not ideal. I want to look into what a good way is to mount the camera on a tripod and how the tripod could perhaps be cut out of the video itself. For the next test I also want to look at shooting outside with natural light.

 

